Major updates … it’s been a while

I’ve gone through quite a few changes recently, and in the weeks to come, so will my website.

First of all, I’m now living in a 36-foot-long Class A RV which I call The Behemoth. This was a major lifestyle change for me, but one that suits my profession as a full-time novelist. Since I can do my job from anywhere, I might as well do it from everywhere. The ocean, the mountains, the desert, etc. The RV has given me that freedom.

All of this took place at the end of October 2021 when the lease was up on the house I’d been renting in Las Vegas, Nevada. That’s right, I was renting. After spending 25 years in the real estate and mortgage business before starting my writing career, I didn’t want to be tied to an area any longer. With renting, the most I’d be committed to would be a year at a time. It fit my new lifestyle better than owning property. Been there, done that.

So, with my lease ending on Oct. 31, I’d already bought the RV earlier in the year with plans to do an extensive rehab to turn it into a traveling office. The goal was to seek out the most amazing views — out my office window. To that end, I booked six months along the Oregon coast beginning in the middle of December 2021. (I know, why go in the winter? To beat the crowds and get the best spots RIGHT on the ocean, that’s why. I could still sit at my desk and write while watching the storms roll in.)

I planned to move to Lake Mead outside Las Vegas for a month and a half as I learn how to be an RV’er. Well, here it is, right at the first of February, 2022, and I’m still at Lake Mead. Why you ask? I’ll give you a hint. It begins with ‘C’ and ends in ‘R’ and rhymes with Cancer.

That’s right, in the middle of October 2021, just as I was rehabbing the RV and closing out the house, I was diagnosed with throat cancer. It’s a mild form of cancer and very treatable. However, it will require me to stick around for six months to go through the treatments. They start in mid-February and will end in April sometime. Not bad. Then some follow-up exams, and I should hit the road in May.

Now, back to the RV.

In the lead-up to me buying the RV (and continuing), I watched hundreds of videos on YouTube about RVs and the RV lifestyle. Because of this, I got the idea to start a YouTube channel of my own to document not only my journey as a new RV’er, but also as someone starting a YouTube channel from scratch and how I make money on the road, namely through my novels. And now I can include the cancer aspect of my life — not that I want to. I’d rather not have cancer than have to talk about it on YouTube. But it is a big part of my life now, so unavoidable.

Now here’s the thing. I have a YouTube channel called The Nomadic Novelist (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9p1yyl4bu1FLzWzKibqbLQ), which, at the moment, doesn’t have any videos. With all the RV stuff, doctor’s appointments and writing the latest Adam Cain novel (Lifeforce, now available on Amazon), I haven’t had time to learn all the editing and filming aspects of putting together decent videos. I have all the equipment and programs, and rest assured, the videos are coming. And now that Lifeforce is done, they now take priority. I expect the first videos to hit the first week of February 2022.

So, where does this leave the website? In a transition period. I’m getting set up with a professional website designer to redo the site and include links to the videos I do. I will also be keeping my readers up-to-date with my travels and my books. Just like my Facebook Fan Page (Fans of T.R. Harris and The Human Chronicles Saga – https://www.facebook.com/groups/474053313419688), I plan to make the site more interactive with my fans.

All this and more is in the works.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to. Please go to my Amazon author page at: https://www.amazon.com/T-R-Harris/e/B005VI4RNC to catch up on any books you haven’t yet read, and know that more are on the way. But now I’ll be adding videos to the mix. It’s a terrifying thing! I’m not used to being in front of the camera; I’m more of the behind-the-scenes kinda guy. So be patient. I promise, the videos will get better and I’ll get more comfortable being on camera.

Thanks for hanging in there with me for all these years. I’ve just passed my 10-year anniversary of being a full-time novelist and with no plans of slowing down. Watch the website to see the changes as they happen. They’re coming…

Tom Harris

January 30, 2022

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s